Search
  • Morgan Elliott

Interview with Jon Cronshaw

Welcome back to another author interview, y’all! Today, we have Jon Cronshaw in the hot seat. Jon is a fan favorite fantasy author. His works include The Wasteland Series, The Ravenglass Chronicles, and Dawn of Assassins. I have to say I started The Magician, which is book one of The Ravenglass Chronicles, and I’m really loving it so far. As I’m sure most of you know by now, I love reading stories with vivid world-building. That’s exactly what Jon offers us with his books so for me it’s a no-brainer. As Jon gave me a glimpse of his world, I saw how ambitious he is in everything he does. It doesn’t matter if he’s spending time with his family, writing, or exploring the world, he wants the best and he goes for it. Getting to know Jon was a lot of fun. He was very easy to talk to and he even made me laugh a few times. Which for someone with no sense of humor, that’s a pretty big deal. He was even nice enough to tell me where he gets some of his day-to-day inspiration (top secret info, y’all!). I love it when authors can support and guide other authors. It’s amazing when we work together as a community instead of viewing each other as competition. Anyway, if I were you, I’d put Jon Cronshaw and his books at the top of your TBR list. In real life, you might find Jon exploring caves, tombs, and castles but you’ll always find his books on Amazon. I’m serious y’all! You won’t want to miss out on these books!


How did your writing journey begin?


I’ve always been writing and creating things since I can remember. As a child I’d write stories on my Commodore 64, only to have them disappear when I wanted to use the computer for something else.


What was your very first job?


I worked in a nut factory when I was sixteen. These weren’t edible nuts, these were the types of nuts you screw into bolts (the factory I worked in didn’t make the bolts). It was boring and I would often find my mind drifting into the imaginary realm, but when I opened my first pay packet, it all seemed worth it as I could go and buy some books and CDs!


Do you have any bad writing habits (such as overused words or dialogue tags)?


Yes. My first drafts are horrible. Everyone either nods or shakes their heads. Luckily, there’s this thing called redrafting, which is basically like cheating on a test.


How do you recharge?


Walks. Lots of walks. I live near the sea and nothing recharges me like a good walk along the promenade with my wife and son.


What is your writing process like?


Most days I bang my head on a keyboard repeatedly until something forms.

But, seriously, it depends on the project. I’m still looking for a process that works for me. Maybe there isn’t one.

I fall somewhere between a discovery writer and a plotter. I like to have an outline when I begin, but that shifts and adapts as I get to understand my characters more.

I have to admit I’m quite envious of those authors who can hammer out a novel in a couple of weeks.


If you could trade places with anyone for a day, who would you choose?


My son. He has way more fun than I do!


How much of your everyday life ends up in your books?


It depends on the book. Some of my books hit very close to the bone. Blind Gambit, for example, is both a fun sci-fi novel in the vein of Ready Player One, but it’s also a meditation on coming to terms with my own disability.


What is something you’ve always wanted to do but haven’t?


Learn to play piano. That will change.


What part of the writing/publishing stage is the hardest for you?


First drafts. Getting the story down and out of my head is sometimes a real struggle. Once that’s out of the way, it’s plain sailing.


Outside of writing, what are some other things you love to do?


I love music. I enjoy attending concerts, playing guitar, and spending far too much time browsing Spotify.


Do you have any tips for aspiring authors?


Start with story. End with story. Story. Story. Story. Everything else is padding.


Author's Bio:


Jon Cronshaw is the internationally bestselling author of fantasy and science fiction.

He lives in Morecambe, England, with his wife and son.

He’s been recording his writing journey since 2017 on the podcast Jon Cronshaw’s Author Diary - find it on Apple, Amazon, and Spotify, or through your podcast app.

You can follow him on Facebook and TikTok @joncronshawauthor and claim your free novel, Birth of Assassins at joncronshaw.com.


Dawn of Assassins blurb:

Two friends. A master assassin. One deadly choice.


Fedor and Lev are thieves...not killers.


They lead a desperate life in the tunnels of Nordturm, conning and stealing to buy their next meal.


But when an assassin recruits them against their will, they are forced into a life they do not want and cannot escape.


If they leave, they will die. But if they stay, they must kill.


Can they survive the master’s relentless evaluation?


Is loyalty stronger than the will to live?


Will their friendship last the ordeal?


From the best-selling author of The Ravenglass Chronicles, comes a new thrilling adventure featuring a new cast of unforgettable characters.


With fast-paced action, swashbuckling, and witty banter, Dawn of Assassins is perfect for fans of roguish high fantasy in the tradition of Michael J. Sullivan, Scott Lynch, and Steven Brust.


Start reading today, because these unlikely heroes have a story you won't be able to put down.




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All